I am pretty new to the game. As such, crafting is still a major hurdle. I am going to share what I've learned about it, but I won't go into alchemy here. Look up the alchemy crafting guide for that. If anything here is wrong, I'll edit this.

First, you will have to grind a lot to get your skills higher. Start early! Grinding is mindlessly harvesting ingredients like gems, state capsules, ore, wood, herbs, plants, runes, etc. Considering the max level to get the highest ingredients is around 400 or more for each skill, you will be grinding a lot. You can get items with modifications (or mods), but they generally won't go above 140 for each item. So unless you have 4 items with 100+ mods on them for gathering your ingredient, you'll need to grind. Anything you gather can be sold at most merchant stalls that have a coin icon, regardless of level. If the merchant level is way higher than you, click on the "View All" button in the lower left corner to bring up the merchants to trade with. A few merchants will only have quests available. You'll learn pretty quickly who can be traded with. Chatting to other players while grinding is a great way to meet other players and ask questions! I encourage everyone to chat it up. It makes the game more interesting, and you can probably make friends.

To craft anything, you will need blueprints for everything except cooking, as well as ingredients and property containers or charged state capsules for most. Ingredients are unique for each craft. Cooking requires meat or plants, herbs and cooking oil. Tailoring requires textiles. Leatherworking requires pelts. Blacksmithing requires ingots. Carpentry requires treated wood. The level of the blueprint determines what you will need to craft. General rule is ingredients and property containers must be the level of the blueprint or lower.